360 Degree Panoramic Photography

download

“You’re looking at 360 panoramas. They could be also be called 360° panoramas, 360-degree panoramas, omniviews, VR photos, virtual reality panoramas, sphere panoramas, etc.

Panoramic photography of some kind has existed for more than a century. You can see many examples of 360 degree photos from 100 years ago. Nowadays you can see a boom in this kind of visualization technology due to the ever-reducing cost of the technology, availability of software, abundance of publishing tools. One of the most important aspects is also that the broadband internet made it possible to easily share this kind of photography with others.” -360cities

hopkins_beach_panoramaBundeena-pier-360-panorama-NSW-Australia

360 Panoramas are a neat concept that I believe helped fuel the demand for things like the 360 degree video and augmenting things like the virtual reality programs we’ve seen in class. I worked in my internship to make 3D virtual tours, so I got rather close and personal with this concept of photography. I find the process fascinating and rewarding.

Because of the limitations of my expertise at the time, the process for shooting and processing was similar to this: I would use a specialized tripod head and fix my camera to that, and then go around a room and take 36 shots in triplicate. It was admittedly a little excessive, but I wasn’t a photographer and I didn’t want to mess up the job. Afterwards, I would process the pictures in a batch for consistent lighting and contrast fixes across the board. Afterwards, I’d stitch it in another program; or basically sow the ends of each picture together to make a streamlined panorama. The new panoramas were then fitted into yet another program, and this one took the panoramas and helped me weave a tour, that is, you could explore from one panorama to the other and view it almost as if viewing a building. With a little load time, you can check out one of the virtual tours I made here! http://www.laredhealthcenter.org/index.cfm?ref=60200

Overall, I had a really fascinating experience with it, and seeing how they’re slowly becoming more inventive with their pictures and applications for these panoramas, I thought it would be a great thing to look into!

-Ttowles

https://www.360cities.net/help/taking-panoramic-pictures/how-to-get-started

http://www.digitaltrends.com/photography/photography-101-how-to-shoot-360-degree-panoramas/

https://www.loc.gov/collections/panoramic-photographs/articles-and-essays/a-brief-history-of-panoramic-photography/

download (1)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

